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Tuition Rate Adjustments for Minimum Wage Costs 
2018-19 & 2019-20 reconciliation rates  

This guidance covers how minimum wage funding may be requested by approved private 
programs serving school-age students with disabilities (chapter 853 schools), Special Act School 
Districts, State Supported Schools (4201 schools), and approved private preschool special class 
and special class integrated programs.   

Minimum Wage funding requests must be submitted to the NYSED Rate Setting Unit (RSU) 
through the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey. This guidance is comprised of five sections:  

I. General Instructions for Requesting 2018-19 & 2019-20 Reconciliation Rate Adjustments –
must be submitted by November 30, 2020

II. Steps to complete the Minimum Wage Survey Funding Request Form
III. Steps to complete the Minimum Wage Survey Minimum Wage Calculations
IV. Steps to complete the Minimum Wage Survey Regional Salary Data
V. Submission of Minimum Wage Survey

Minimum Wage Survey Submission Instructions are at the end of this guidance. Questions 
regarding this Minimum Wage Survey are to be submitted in writing to: mwage@nysed.gov 

Minimum Wage Act 

The Minimum Wage Act (Article 19 of the New York State Labor Law), which was signed into law 
on April 4, 2016, established, by region, gradual increases of the minimum wage rate in New York 
State to $15.00 per hour. The regional minimum wage rates are scheduled to increase each year 
on 12/31 until they reach $15.00 per hour following the schedule below.   

General Minimum Wage Rate Schedule 

 Location  12/31/16  12/31/17  12/31/18  12/31/19  12/31/20  2021* 
 NYC (11 or more employees)  $11.00  $13.00  $15.00 
 NYC (10 or less employees)  $10.50  $12.00  $13.50  $15.00 
 Long Island & Westchester  $10.00  $11.00  $12.00  $13.00  $14.00  $15.00 
 Rest of State (ROS)  $9.70  $10.40  $11.10  $11.80  $12.50  $12.81 

* Annual increases for the rest of the state will continue until the rate reaches $15 minimum
wage (and $10 tipped wage). Starting 2021, the annual increases will be published by the
Commissioner of Labor on or before October 1. They will be based on percentage increases
determined by the Director of the Division of Budget, based on economic indices, including the
Consumer Price Index.

Introduction: 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey 

Providers impacted by the Minimum Wage Act during the 2018-19 and/or 2019-20 school year 
may qualify for a rate adjustment to their 2018-19 and/or 2019-20 reconciliation tuition rates by 
submitting the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey to the Rate Setting Unit. To determine 
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the amount of funding that may be added to the 2018-19 and/or 2019-20 reconciliation tuition 
rates, each approved eligible provider will be responsible for submitting the Minimum Wage 
Survey for each program seeking a minimum wage rate adjustment. Please be advised that these 
additional funds are intended to support employee salary costs and related mandated fringe 
benefits associated with increases in minimum wage. 
 

If a program does not submit a request for minimum wage funding, there will be no minimum 
wage rate adjustments on behalf of that program for the 2018-19 or 2019-20 school year tuition 
rates.   
 

Each provider seeking additional funding for minimum wage costs must report 2017-18 salary 
and fringe benefits data which will be used to determine a rate adjustment to the 2018-19 and/or 
2019-20 reconciliation tuition rates. The Chief Administrator will be required to attest to the 
accuracy of the information being provided as part of the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey on the 
FUNDING REQUEST form (i.e., the Funding Request Tab). 
 

I.  2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey General Instructions - 2018-19 & 2019-20 Reconciliation 
Rate Adjustments 
Download the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey excel document from the Rate Setting Unit 
website: http://www.oms.nysed.gov/rsu/Manuals_Forms/ 
 

Please note: a separate 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey must be submitted to the Rate 
Setting Unit for each program code for which funding is being requested.   
 

The 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey will use 2017-18 school year salary and fringe benefits 
data as the basis for the maximum projected amount. Calendar year-end cost report filers 
must combine the relevant data from the 2017 (FF) July-December reporting period and the 
2018 (SS) January-June reporting period to create the requested 2017-18 school year salary 
and fringe benefits data.   

 

II. Steps to complete the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey - FUNDING REQUEST form for a 
2018-19 and/or 2019-20 reconciliation rate adjustment: 

 

The FUNDING REQUEST form is located on the “Funding Request” TAB of the 2020-21 
Minimum Wage Survey. 

 

Section 1: 
1) Identify the Provider Name: Select your Provider Name from the drop-down menu - 

School code should automatically update. If your provider name is not included in the 
provider name drop-down menu, you may manually enter the information.   
 

2) Program Code: Enter the 4-digit program code for the preschool or school age program 
(see CFR Manual appendix H for codes) CFR Manual program codes. 

 

Section 2: Complete regional salary data worksheets (see item IV REGIONAL SALARY DATA 
instructions below)  

 

http://www.oms.nysed.gov/rsu/Manuals_Forms/
http://www.oms.nysed.gov/rsu/Manuals_Forms/Manuals/CFRManual/documents/FINALAPPENDICES_12-27-2018.pdf
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Section 3: Calculation of maximum waiver amount due to Minimum Wage (no input 
required): The “Minimum Wage maximum waiver amount” for each applicable region as 
calculated on the minimum wage calculations worksheet will be combined to calculate a 
“2018-19 Reconciliation Rate Minimum Wage Maximum Waiver Amount” and a “2019-20 
Reconciliation Rate Minimum Wage Maximum Waiver Amount.”  

 

Section 4: Contact Information – please enter contact information of chief administrator. 
 

Section 5: Attestation – The Chief Administrator is required to attest to the accuracy and 
usage of the information being provided in the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey. Once all data 
has been entered/calculated, please either: print out the screen and have the agency’s Chief 
Administrator sign the attestation and print and save the signed form as a PDF file; or insert 
an electronic signature and add the appropriate date and print and save the file as a PDF. No 
funding will be provided absent this attestation. 

 

III. Steps to complete the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey – MINIMUM WAGE CALCULATIONS 
form for a 2018-19 and/or 2019-20 reconciliation rate adjustment: 
 

1) Program Mandated Fringe Benefit Rate: 
a) For fiscal year 2017-18 July-June filers: 

The Mandated Fringe Benefits expenses are reported on schedule CFR-1 line 18 
and the Personal Services expenses are reported on schedule CFR-1 line 16, of the 
2017-18 CFR, respectively.   

 

b) For calendar year Jan-Dec filers:  
2017-18 Mandated Fringe Benefits expenses must be calculated by combining the 
mandated fringe benefits reported on schedule CFR-1 line 18 under the (FF) 
reporting period of the 2017 CFR with the mandated fringe benefits reported 
under the (SS) reporting period of the 2018 CFR.  Similarly, for calendar year-end 
filers, the 2017-18 Personal Services expenses must be calculated by combining 
the personal services expenses reported on schedule CFR-1 line 16 under the (FF) 
reporting period of the 2017 CFR with the personal services expenses reported 
under the (SS) reporting period of the 2018 CFR.   

 

2)   Agency Administration Mandated Fringe Benefit Rate: 
a) For fiscal year July-June filers, the 2017-18 Mandated Fringe Benefits expenses are 

reported on schedule CFR-3 line 3 and the 2017-18 Personal Services expenses are 
reported on schedule CFR-3 line 1, of the 2017-18 CFR.   

 

b) For calendar year Jan-Dec filers, to calculate the 2017-18 Mandated Fringe 
Benefits expenses, you must combine the data reported on schedule CFR-3 line 3 
of the 2017 CFR with the corresponding data reported on the 2018 CFR and divide 
the results by two.  Similarly, for calendar year-end filers, the 2017-18 Personal 
Services expenses must be calculated by combining the data reported on schedule 
CFR-3 line 1 of the 2017 CFR with the corresponding data reported on the 2018 
CFR and divide the results by two.   
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3) Once the Mandated Fringe Benefits expense and Personal Services expense data has been 
calculated and entered on rows 12, 13, 17, and 18, the spreadsheet will automatically 
calculate the 2017-18 Mandated Program Fringe Percent and the 2017-18 Mandated 
Admin Fringe Percent on rows 14 and 19.  

 

4)   Program % of Agency Administration 
Please be advised that salary and benefits associated with agency administration staff 
(PTC 601 – 690) must be prorated based on the percentage of each program’s operating 
costs to the total agency’s operating costs as follows: 
 

a) For fiscal year July-June filers, the “Program Admin %” is the quotient of the 
“Agency Admin. Alloc.” costs reported on schedule CFR-1 line 65 divided by the 
“Net Agency Administration” costs reported on schedule CFR-3 line 42, of the 
2017-18 CFR.   
 

b) For calendar year filers (Jan – Dec), the “Agency Admin. Alloc.” costs and “Net 
Agency Administration” costs associated with the 2017-18 school year must be 
determined before the “Program Admin %” can be calculated.   

 

i. To determine the “Agency Admin. Alloc.” costs associated with the 2017-
18 school year, calendar year-end filers must combine the data reported 
on schedule CFR-1 line 65 under the 2017 (FF) reporting period of the 2017 
CFR with the corresponding data reported under the 2018 (SS) reporting 
period of the 2018 CFR. 

 

ii. For calendar year filers (Jan – Dec), to determine the “Net Agency 
Administration” costs associated with the 2017-18 school year, calendar 
year-end filers must combine the data reported on schedule CFR-3 line 42 
of the 2017 CFR with the corresponding data reported on the 2018 CFR 
and divide the results by two.  

 

c) Once these calculations have been performed, these amounts can be input onto 
rows 22 and 23 of the worksheet. The “Program Admin %” will be calculated on 
row 24 by dividing the “Agency Admin. Alloc.” costs by the “Net Agency 
Administration” costs associated with the 2017-18 school year.   
 

5) Program Enrollment Data: Input 2 month and/or 10-month care days on rows 28 and 29 
of the Min. Wage Calculations worksheet for the 2017-18, 2018-19, and 2019-20 school 
years, as reported on the Consolidated Fiscal Report schedule SED-1 or ST-3 Supplemental 
Schedule SS-14. For calendar year CFR filers, the 10-month care days are the September-
December (FF) FTE enrollment plus the January-June (SS) FTE enrollment times the 
September-June session days. For example, for the 2017-18 school year, 10-month care 
days are calculated as: [(Sept-Dec 2017 FTE enrollment) + (Jan-June 2018 FTE enrollment)] 
X [(Sept-Dec 2017 session days) + (Jan-June 2018 session days)].  
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IV. Steps to complete the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey – REGIONAL SALARY DATA forms for 
a 2018-19 and/or 2019-20 reconciliation rate adjustment: 

 

1) Input Salary hours paid Data: Input data related to the position(s) for which you are 
seeking additional minimum wage funding.  Data pertaining to positions or employees 
not impacted by the increase in minimum wage does not need to be reported.  

 

The minimum wage is based on where an employee performs work. Workers must be 
paid the minimum wage rate for their work location regardless of where the main office 
of their employer is located. Therefore, it is possible that a program with different 
approved locations may have employees subject to different minimum wage rates. Salary 
and Mandated Fringe Benefits data must be reported for employees in each applicable 
location. There are three separate tabs in the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey to capture 
this data: 2017-18 New York City (NYC) Salary Data, 2017-18 Long Island-Westchester (LI-
W) Salary Data, and 2017-18 Rest-of-state (ROS) Salary Data.  
 

2) Salary: For each applicable location tab (NYC Salary, LI-W Salary, ROS Salary), please enter 
the total hours that direct employed staff (employees, not independent contractors) were 
paid at each of the identified hourly wage bands, by Position Title Code (PTC), using 2017-
18 payroll data.   

 

Salaries include all taxable and non-taxable salaries and wages paid to employees on the 
agency payroll, payment for services (fee for service), and per diem pay. Hours worked 
and paid leave time should be included but do not count hours paid that were recorded 
for weeks that the school was not in session and the employee was not working or not on 
paid leave time (for example, if the school session calendar is 46 weeks but hours paid is 
booked on payroll for 52 weeks as an annualized salary, then only the actual hours worked 
and paid leave time hours should be counted for the year). For purposes of this minimum 
wage survey, do not include salary that is accrued, or severance pay to regular employees, 
and do not include any portion of fringe benefits, overtime, or any potential non-recurring 
payments in hourly wage. If an employees’ salary changed during the reporting periods 
(2017-18 school year), report the hours paid under each of the respective wage columns. 
You may round hours to the nearest hundredth (two decimal places).   

 

V. Submit the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey to the NYSED Rate Setting Unit:  
 

The following must be submitted with your minimum wage funding request for each program 
seeking a rate adjustment:  

 

1) the completed 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey file in Excel format and 
2)  the 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey and Reconciliation Rate Funding Request form 

with a signed attestation in PDF format.  
 

Attach the two documents to an email titled “2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey” and send to 
mwage@nysed.gov. The 2020-21 Minimum Wage Survey must be submitted no later than 
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November 30, 2020. Questions regarding this guidance or the 2020-21 Minimum Wage 
Survey are to be submitted in writing to: mwage@nysed.gov. 
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